Table for 7 Billion, Please

Women’s voices at the table are a moral imperative.

Two Owls Calling


I want to write about the 59th Commission on the Status of Women (CSW), but I am terribly under-qualified. (When friends ask what I do when I go to the United Nations each March, I say that I’m a CSW groupie.)

Still, I get to wear one of those official badges with my photo, so I feel pretty cool.

I love the UN. The flags themselves thrill me.
My first visit was in the 7th grade.
For me it was like a candy store of all things international.

A colleague of mine, who IS qualified to write about CSW, and actually worked at the United Nations, says that she got chills every time she turned the corner and saw the flags. For three years, Jennifer she said to herself: “I work here!”

I wish I wanted to work there. It was my grandmother Lila’s dream. She studied French and Chinese…

View original post 1,397 more words

Leave a Reply

