a mother’s eyes

A Facebook friend shared this post and I asked if I could place it here. Mothers have a unique view of the world which includes the primacy of their own children and also reaches back to past and forward into the future…

2e8b9f1e506402767c3d9f4d716282d7

After shedding many tears while traveling through Arizona the past two days, I really felt the potential that health care and a free college education could provide America’s poor. I am still impacted by the poverty and the bigotry I witnessed.

Many towns along I 40 were filled with retail shops that had gone out of business. I don’t know the story behind it, but what remained was far from an inspiring environment. It felt ripe for ignorance, depression and/or aggression. The broken neon signs a reminder that a better life was once available on these same streets.

And…

Hart got his Junior Ranger patch at the Petrified Forest. He pledged to take care of Americas National Parks so that future generations could enjoy them. Thanks to Roosevelt our country has some of the most diverse landscapes of any place on earth. I treasure the Sequoias, Yosemite, Joshua Tree, Grand Canyon, Bryce, Arches, Mesa Verde… the list just goes on!… and, my gratitude is immense that I can share these special places with my child.

Bernie lost in Arizona. But, he won in Idaho and Utah!!

We’re on the brink of a revolution. I celebrated Hart’s 1/2 birthday. And, I am celebrating what’s possible in our country if Bernie’s plans are implemented.

(Marcella Eversole)

Leave a Reply

