“I See You”

Eye to eye. Women. The world. The 61st Commission on the Status of Women. #CSW61

Two Owls Calling

One of the things that delights me most about children and elders–and particularly foreigners–is the way they see the world; and how they express that; and how that opens me to seeing things differently too.

This past week, I joined fellow NGO representatives at the UN for the 56th Annual Commission on the Status of Women. It was an international scene with women attending from every part of the globe, many delightfully dressed in native costume.

One particular session was so crowded that I was forced to squeeze in among dozens of others in the back of the room on the floor. It quickly grew so hot that I began to remove layer after layer until I was sitting barefoot and in my camisole.

Women smiled knowingly, and later one kindly offered me her standing spot in the corner so that I could stretch my legs and cool off.

Another…

View original post 405 more words

Leave a Reply

